THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN FASHION AND PERSONAL STYLE.

It is very important to know the difference between fashion and personal style, this will help one to discover what really suits you and how to go about it.
Fashion simply put refers to the latest trends and it all depends with the season and what is considered to be trendy or happening at that moment.
Fashion can be bought. Style one must possess”. Edna Woolman Chase

zimbabwe-fashion-week-2015

download

Fashion focuses mainly on the outside adornments but personal style puts more emphasis on the internal, it is all about inner beauty and revealing who you are on the inside. With personal style it is not about what you wear but how you wear it, the attitude you wear an outfit with.
As established already style is different from fashion.

Personal style comes from within.

It is the woman, her individuality and spirit comes though. She uses clothes to express who she is and how she feel. Donna Koran

Style is personal to an individual, we all have personal style but we might not have discovered or taken a closer look at what one really likes. For me personally my personal is all about comfort and dressing for my body shape. I am discovering my personal style by trying different clothing that I normally would not even wear.

Personal style should be effortless.
It is not about what you wear,
But how confident you are when you wear it.
Monica Rose
One thing to keep in mind is that your personal style will change with age as you know more about yourself and discover what you like and what suits you. My personal style is more classic and chic. I love body con dresses and figure hugging outfits as I have discovered that they suit me more and they are so comfortable. For me because I am am small I have to be careful of over-sized clothing it will end up looking like I am drowning in the clothes.

 

It is all about comfort for me, I love looking good and be comfortable at the same time. You can develop your personal style from taking fashion items and incorporating them into your wardrobe. Your personal style must speak for you, it must introduce you before you speak. Fashion comes and goes but style will always be there. With personal style the focus is on embracing yourself and bringing out the best aspects of you. Personal style is an extension of the inner you and it says a lot about you before you even speak.

 

An example would be incorporating chokers into your accessories and dressing it with different outfits. Two people can buy the same dress but its how it is styled that says much about you. Its in the details like the shoes you will wear, how you will style your hair and the accessories. Understand that personal styles differs, some people  are edgy, others are classic, others soft, some are bright and colorful and some are a bit more experimental that others and there is nothing wrong with any of these. Please do not make the mistake of thinking that what looks good on someone else will definitely look good on you. Dress for yourself and not for anybody and this sounds simple but there are a lot of people dressing for others and looking good according to the world’s standard but they themselves are not comfortable.

Exif_JPEG_420
my style is more so for comfort than fashion. 

I hope this will help you discover your personal style, leave me a comment telling me your personal style.

Be your own style and stay true to yourself.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

