LIVING IN THE MOMENT

bc20160822_104239

I was recently looking at my old pictures and I realized something. I realized that I was actually looking good and it may sound vain but I am going somewhere with this. At the time these pictures where taken I did not feel my best to be honest. I felt like I was chubby and not so beautiful and now when I look back I do not know what made to even think that way.
In this day, social media has imprinted in us the perfect person and as people we want to be that person, especially women. The perfect person has clear skin with no acne, flat tummy and toned. This ideal person dresses well, is liked by everybody, gets along with their family, and has many friends just to mention a few  things. When you look at Instagram people only post the best parts of them and their lives, it is only a few that post the ugly of their day to day life. Television shows are now embracing different body types and it’s a small start to decode what people have come to believe.
Social media is not the only problem but the people around you as well. When I was younger some people close to me used to always call me chubby or say ende wasimba (you have gained weight) and this made me to push myself and starve myself and feel like every time I eat I am gaining weight [WHICH IS NOT TRUE BY THE WAY]. I do not think these people meant it in a malicious way but they did not process their words before they spoke. At times, however it can be for our good but it is how someone says it. There is a fear in people of gaining weight and this is always seen as a negative thing. Slowly but slowly people are beginning to accept that being big is not a bad thing and it does not mean that you are unhealthy. Some people are slim or skinny and yet they are unhealthy as compared to a bigger person.
I look back now and I am disappointed in myself that I did not embrace how I looked at that time. At some point I was young and I kind of understand why I felt this way but now I am a bit older and I even thought that way last year. In my mind, I always thought I need to lose some weight and lose the belly and when I look back I do not even see the weight.I have made up my mind to love the way I look like now even though I am not where I want to be yet. I want to live in the moment and not only enjoy my body the way it is but enjoy where I am with my friends, family, education, and my blog as well.
Proverbs 18:21 …. DEATH AND LIFE ARE IN THE POWER OF THE TONGUE, AND THOSE THAT LOVE IT WILL EAT ITS FRUITS.
Matthew 15: 18…. BUT WHAT COMES OUT OF THE MOUTH PROCEEDS FROM THE HEART, AND IT DEFILES A PERSON.

Some advice would also be to surround yourself with positive and wise people that know how to speak and when to speak. On the other hand, do not be that person that will discourage someone by commenting hurtful comments about someone’s weight. Choose to be sensitive and pray before commenting without reason. Words are powerful and you do not know what comments that seem silly to you may push someone to do. We have all heard of people starving themselves till they are anorexic and some even committing suicide. Today just pray that God sets a guard over your mouth and that you are wise in your speech.

Be sensitive and choose to live in the moment.

One thought on “LIVING IN THE MOMENT

  1. Perfect knowledge! The tragic thing is us people nolonger value words and information, particulary divine information. Thank you Tine for the write up. In its simplicity i saw the light

    Like

Leave a Reply

