MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS- DO NOT BE A BUSY BODY

Yes, I said it, do not stick your nose into where it does not belong. I am writing this for myself as well as for you, this is something I have intentionally set on my heart to remind myself when I find myself going astray.

2 Thessalonians  3:11 NLT  

Yet we hear that some among you walk in idleness,  not busy at work, but meddling in other people’s business

At times, I find myself wanting to know what is going on in everyone’s life yet it has nothing to do with me, not even one bit. I have come to the realization that knowing everyone’s business is a lot of work and this requires time which I do not have to be honest. Time is something precious that I cannot get back no matter what I do. There are only twenty-four hours in day which is not much and I cannot afford to waste them. Time spent snooping in people’s business can amount to years or God forbid decades of gossiping and snooping around, which I pray will not be my story or yours.
When I find, myself going astray I ask myself what I will benefit at the end of this conversation and honestly, I sometimes only ask myself after I am done speaking. My prayer is that God sets a guard over my mouth such that I only speak words of encouragement and if I am talking about someone I will have a solution or I will be praying for them.
Being a busy body can also be a result of the company that you keep. Surrounding yourself with people that build you, people that will invest in your dreams and people that will correct you when you are going astray and not go astray with you. As I grow older it has become clear that having one friend of substance is better than having a whole group of friends that are not building you.
When I look at my life I am not where I would have liked to be but because of my actions and the company I kept it has left me here and I know I should have been further in life. However, let me not dwell on things I cannot change I have decided to learn from my mistakes. One thing I like to remind myself is that my future really is in my hands, as cliche as that sounds it is true and what I am doing now will show its fruits soon. If I spend time being a busy body I will have nothing to show for it other than stories of the good old days which is sad really.
I want to invest my time into my studies, family, friends and into my purpose. I have kept a distance from those I know will not help me in life. Maybe after cutting some people out you have a lot of free of time on your hands which can be a bad thing, you can get a hobby and get busy with worthwhile things. Get busy doing productive things, evangelize, and get people to know Christ. There should also be a balance in as much as it is good to be busy also take time to rest, spend time with yourself, with your loved one and get out there and meet new people.

Be intentional about not being a busy body

2 thoughts on “MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS- DO NOT BE A BUSY BODY

  1. Awesome!!! Reminds me of a saying I had forgotten to remind myself of over the years. “It’s only 24 hours in a day, I really don’t have the time to stick my nose in people’s affairs that do not concern me. I should mind my own.” Thank you for this post. Also I’ve learned being a busy body is a source for much misery because you end up comparing to others who are making progress while you’re busy gossiping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

