HAVING PEACE OF MIND

In this day and age where there is so much going on and there always, seems to be an issue bothering us. All around people are walking in fear – fear of the past, present and the future. Bad news is coming from every corner and there is no way of escaping. When you turn on the TV you are bombarded by terrible news of war, economic hardships, droughts, sicknesses, the list is endless. This can be discouraging. Nothing seems to be going right and people have lost their culture and lost hope which is really sad.

 
A couple of days or so ago I was reflecting on my life – thinking of where I am. To be honest it is not the best of situations. It is a bit uncomfortable when I think about it but I do not feel uncomfortable [if that makes sense at all]. Despite all this I have peace of mind and I cannot even explain the feeling, it feels amazing.

 
I would define peace of mind as not worrying or being anxious in the midst of trying times. Here are some dictionary definitions:
Miriam Webster: a feeling of being safe or protected.
Oxford dictionary defines it as freedom from disturbance: tranquility

 
As a Christian, to me peace of mind does not mean the absence of trials or problems; it is having peace when things are not going right. My Father is the Alpha and Omega, meaning He is the beginning and the end, He was there from the start, He is in the present and He is in the future! God is not surprised by anything that happens in my life and this is something that I have to remind myself often.

 
Having peace of mind means that you fully trust God and you trust that He will take care of you. One of my favorite verses is;

Hebrews 13:5:
Let your character [your moral essence, your inner nature] be free from the love of money [shun greed—be financially ethical], being content with what you have; for He has said, “I WILL NEVER [under any circumstances] DESERT YOU [nor give you up nor leave you without support, nor will I in any degree leave you helpless], NOR WILL I FORSAKE or LET YOU DOWN or RELAX MY HOLD ON YOU [assuredly not]!”
Amplified Bible (AMP)

God is with you, He has not left you! He knows how you feel and He truly and affectionately cares. If for some reason, you have no peace in challenging times, ask the Holy Spirit and He will give you peace. All you have to do is ask.

 
John 16:33
“These things I have spoken to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”
God has overcome the world, do not worry yourself about anything.

 
John 14:27
“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

 
Philippians 4:6-7
“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

 
With bad news coming from every corner; keep your mind, guard your heart and be diligent about it. I hope this encourages and uplifts you, lets continue the discussion below and give tips on what you do in times of trouble. Enjoy the rest of your week and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

