PREPARING FOR AFTER THE STORM DURING THE STORM

Lately it has been raining almost every single and the weather just changes suddenly without warning. It can be sunny one moment and the next moment it’s pouring down. So, I am walking to Campus with my friend for a photo shoot and this was after heavy rains and I see ants running around gathering grass and food. As I am watching this God spoke to me right in this moment. As I am in my rainy cloudy season I asked myself if I am preparing for after the storm.

When we are in a dark space at times we lose hope and we cannot see beyond the darkness. When these ants where gathering the grass the weather was not as clear, it was still cloudy and it looked like it was going to rain later and it did. That did not stop the ants from gathering, they continued and they were fast about it. I did not see one ant strolling and taking its time, I think that they understand the concept of time and how its limited. The speed at which they move tells you they are not wasting time.

As people after a rainy period we just want to lay indoors and feel sorry for ourselves. You might have heard this before but let me remind you again, feeling sorry for yourself gets you know where and this is something that I have to remind myself constantly. In the storm prepare to go out and gather as soon as the rain subsides even if it looks like it’s going to rain soon. Be ready to get back out there despite the embarrassment, shame, and disappointment. Dust yourself up and keep it moving do not remain in the same place, get something to do.

Proverbs 6:6 New International Version (NIV)

Go to the ant, you sluggard;
    consider its ways and be wise!

The bible even encourages us to look at the ants and copy how hardworking they are. In the storm is the time to get your thoughts together and make a plan so that when the sky is clear you are ready to and get a head start whilst some are still recovering. Every trial that we go through is not for nothing, this makes us stronger and builds endurance. Now you might not be able to tell why you are going through what you are going through but it’s for your benefit and not punishment.

I hope this short post inspires you and helps you to stop feeling sorry for yourself. Please leave a comment of what you do in your storm in order to prepare and be ready to get back out there.

2 thoughts on “PREPARING FOR AFTER THE STORM DURING THE STORM

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

