CONTENTMENT: BEING HAPPY WHERE YOU ARE

Last week I talked about being content and brace yourselves this will be something I will be talking about. So, I have decided to start a contentment series as I feel like this a very important. I have made up my mind to be content and make it my daily mission to be content with where I am, what I have and who I am.

 
As I am sitting thinking of this God reminded me of an eagle, I am sure most of you know a lot of great facts but today we are focusing on vision. It is said that the eagles’ vision is about four to eight times more than that of human beings. It can spot an object over three kilometers away, when it sees its target as it flies down to its prey the muscles of the eyes continue to adjust the curvature and it maintains its focus accurately until it attacks. I know someone may be asking what this has to do with contentment but this is the basis of being content.

 
I have been thinking and doing my reading on being content and one thing that keeps coming up is focusing on what’s important. We all have things that we want to accomplish or things that are important to us. Whether be it a goal or your purpose. We have all heard of the saying that goes stay in your lane, this is so key and true. As I have been trying to live a life of contentment one of the things that has helped me or something that I am using to help me is focusing on my life. I am making it a point not to compare my life with anyone else. This is not easy but when I see myself wanting what other people have I have to tell myself that I have to be content with what I have, who I am and where I am.

 
I was watching this video on the women of purpose YouTube channel and they gave the perfect example of discontentment. When you go out to eat and you all order different meals when the food comes there tends to be someone who will reach out to taste someone else’s meal. This seems like a natural thing to do but when you think about it it’s not right. We always want what other people have, whether what is on our plate is great or even better. It is human nature to do that but remember we are a new creation.

 

 

1 Timothy 5:17
This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun.

 
I am sure you have noticed that even after being saved it’s not easy to shake off sin or little tendencies but it takes time and even after that you slip up. I have found out that continually speaking things repeatedly and acting as well brings about the needed change. When you find, yourself peeping into someone else’s life remind yourself the importance of being content and not only that but tell yourself that you are content. If for some reason, you are still not content get to the root of why you feel this way and from there work on being content. You have to put in the effort and make a conscious effort to be content, this will not go away by wishing or wanting it to go away it takes effort. I have realized that this is something that goes away once but something that I have to do daily and make a conscious effort to be content.

 
I am not there yet but this is a daily walk for me as well. One of my major goals for life is to be content in every season of my life I think to myself that if I am not content and God blessed me with all I could ever want in life I will still not be satisfied. So, to me it is of great importance that I be satisfied now. Whenever I drift away I have to tell myself to focus and stay on my lane. Like an eagle, I want to focus on what’s important, focus on what matter and let everything else be in the background.

 
Feel free to leave me a comment on your thoughts or suggestions on what you have implemented to be content. Thank you all for reading and for your love and support.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

