MINDING THE COMPANY YOU KEEP

The company that you keep determines your thoughts and where you are headed in life. I have several friends with different behaviors and personalities. I spend some of time catching up and talking with them, I realized after spending time with some people my thought pattern shifts from the way I normally think. I came to this realization some days ago when I spent time with some friends and the topics we were talking about where not helpful in anyway. It was only after that I began asked myself what I benefited from this conversation and I benefited nothing. Some conversations poison your mind. One of the resolutions I made for myself this year was to guard my heart and my mind, I might not have control over what people say but I can always walk away or not participate at all. I used to think it was only what you watch and hear but the people you spend most of your time have an impact on what you think about.
Proverbs 23:7
For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he
Proverbs 4:24
Keep your heart with all vigilance, for it determines the course of your life.

1 Corinthians 15:33

Don’t be fooled by those who say such things, for “bad company corrupts good character.
When the people around you are negative it will not take you long for you to be negative. I have been friends with people who are always bringing me down and I was not the most confident person. I was so aware of my flaws and I was so hard on myself, not in a good way but I pushed myself so hard. I never felt like I was enough, I did not like how I looked, how I spoke, I did not like myself. At that time, I did not realize it was because if my surroundings.

 

You become what you think and it does not seem that way but your life shifts in the way that you think. In times when I am not guarding or conscious about what I let in I am surprised by how my mind is quick to wonder. The mind is so powerful and if you are not careful instead of you controlling it, it will start controlling you. You are the caretaker of your body and that includes the mind. Your mind must comply to you, it cannot be any other way around.

 
Daily, I try and make it a point to command my mind to get inline. One thing I do is when I find my mind drifting, I bring it back again and again. When you win a battle in the mind you have one it the physical already. Thank you so much for reading. Please leave me comment on what you do when your mind is wondering. Have an amazing weekend and be blessed.

3 thoughts on “MINDING THE COMPANY YOU KEEP

  1. This is a lovely read. It brings to mind why God commanded Moses to recite the law to the Israelites continually; what we are continually exposed to we become. I’ve recently started watching the information I expose my mind to like a hawk, cos I realized that it has a huge impact on my thought processes. Bless you for writing this.

    Like

  2. this post is so rich. so many notes can be taken not only on paper but on the tablet of our hearts that’s where the info must be. thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

